The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Beacons – an unbroken tradition

Thousands of beacons will be lit around the world on the 4th June 2012 to commemorate Her Majesty The Queen’s 60 year reign over the UK and Commonwealth countries.  Starting with Tonga, the beacons will be fired according to precise timings – culminating with The Queen herself lighting the National Beacon in London.

There is a long and unbroken tradition of celebrating Royal Jubilees, Weddings and Coronations with the lighting of beacons, whether they be on the top of mountains, church towers, town and village greens or along the beaches surrounding our shores.  In 1897, beacons were lit to celebrate Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee.  In 1977 and 2002 beacons were also lit to celebrate the Silver and Golden Jubilees of The Queen.

A special book listing all the beacon sites for The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee will be given to The Queen after the event.

In total, 2,012 official beacons will be lit in the UK, Isle of Man and Channel Islands.  Those wishing to take part in this international event can use their beacon lighting as a way of raising funds for local or national charities of their choice, or as an opportunity to celebrate with family and friends. 

To find out more information or to register your own beacon so that it counts towards the national total, visit where you can download a ‘Guide to Taking Part’.  Or you can email the organisers direct


About David Pool

Online Marketing Manager for The Westminster Collection
This entry was posted in Diamond Jubilee News, The Queen's Diamond Jubilee and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s